Tel - 615-741-3096
Fax - 615-532-2477
News & Updates
DRAFT SUSPENSION ORDER
The Commission has sent via certified mail a draft of the Suspension Order to attorneys who are not in compliance with their 2021 CLE requirements under Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 21.
Attorneys receiving the draft Order have not completed one or more of the following:
• Earned and reported 15 hours of CLE for 2021 – 3 ethics/professionalism (or dual) hours and 12 general hours
• Claimed a valid exemption from CLE for 2021
• Paid any fees for noncompliance or attendance for 2021
Attorneys can see their compliance status by logging into their online attorney account, which will show hours earned and fees due, if any, as well as provide the opportunity to file the required Annual Report Statement, including claiming any exemptions.
To avoid license suspension for noncompliance with the CLE requirement, attorneys MUST BY AUGUST 10, 2022:
•Pay any outstanding fees for noncompliance and attendance. Payments may be made here.
•Claim a valid exemption by filing an Annual Report Statement via the online attorney account. Click the RED link that says “Your Online ARS is now available! Click HERE to complete!” Fees may be due as well.
•Complete CLE hours required for 2021. If no exemption applies, attorneys must earn at least 3 ethics/professionalism and 12 general hours of CLE credit. All hours for 2021 may be earned through online courses.,
•Complete an Affidavit of Compliance. Any CLE credits not yet posted to an account, should be detailed on the Affidavit of Compliance. The Commission will submit names for suspension if required hours are not reported or a valid Affidavit of Compliance is not filed by August 10, 2022.
The Commission will submit to the Court on August 15 a list of all attorneys who remain noncompliant. The Court will review the final Suspension Order, and upon the Court’s approval, shall enter the Suspension Order suspending the law license of each attorney listed in the order. Any attorney suspended for noncompliance with Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 21 is assessed a $500 fee.
Court Solicits Comments on Rule 21 Distance Learning Limitation
The Tennessee Supreme Court is considering amending Rule 21 to permanently eliminate the limitations on Distance Learning Credits. The Court is soliciting written comments from judges, lawyers, bar associations, members of the public, and all interested parties. See more here.
Supreme Court Permits All Online CLE Hours for 2021 & 2022
By order of the Tennessee Supreme Court, all CLE hours for the 2021 and 2022 compliance years may be earned online. Lawyers seeking reactivation or reinstatement during the 2022 compliance year pursuant to Tennessee Supreme Court Rule 9, section 30 and Rule 21 also are covered. See the order here.
To accredit a CLE course in Tennessee, all providers must electronically report attendance and pay course reporting fees. The Supreme Court Order was effecive October 8, 2021. See the text of the order here.